SEPT (Settlement and Education Partnerships in Toronto) Services

Our services are funded by the IRCC (Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada)

 

 

We provide settlement services in the following schools:

 Avondale Elementary AS Avondale PS AY Jackson SS Brebeuf College
 Churchill PS Crestview PS Cummer Valley MS Don Valley MS
 Earl Haig SS Forest Manor PS George S. Henry Academy Georges Vanier SS
 Kingslake PS Lillian PS McKee PS Newtonbrook SS
 Highland MS Pleasant PS Pleasant View MS RJ Lang E&MS
 Sir Ernest MacMillan SPS MacDonald CI St. Joseph Morrow Park CSS St. Paschal Baylon CS
 St. Timothy CS Steelesview PS Willowdale MS Woodbine MS
 Yorkview PS Zion Heights MS    

(Revised: December 2021)

Services are provided in the following languages:

 Arabic Cantonese Dari Farsi
 Hindi Korean Malayalam Mandarin
 Russian Tagalog Tamil Ukrainian
Settlement Worker Phone Number Email address
 Andy Shum
 (Cantonese and Mandarin)
647-881-1043 andy.shum@cicscanada.com
 Anjali Dhanesh
 (Hindi, Malayalam and Tamil)
647-999-3106 anjali.dhanesh@cicscanada.com
 Annette Fong
 (Cantonese and Mandarin)
647-888-1494 annette.fong@cicscanada.com
 Banah Al-Safadi
 (Arabic)
416-678-2464 banah.Al-Safadi@cicscanada.com
 Blaise Cabanban
 (Tagalog)
416-455-8641 blaise.cabanban@cicscanada.com
 Carol Ye
 (Mandarin and Cantonese)
647-999-6397 carol.ye@cicscanada.com
 Faheze J. Hayes
 (Farsi and Dari)
647-999-8623 fahezej.hayes@cicscanada.com
 Iona Seo
 (Korean)
647-999-6012 iona.seo@cicscanada.com
 Iris Iskander
 (Arabic)
647-999-1679 iris.iskander@cicscanada.com
 Nicole Babaran
 (Tagalog)
647-999-5340 nicole.babaran@cicscanada.com
 Sue Kim
 (Korean)
416-455-8531 sue.kim@cicscanada.com
 Svetlana Kravchenko
 (Russian and Ukrainian)
647-999-9385 svetlana.kravchenko@cicscanada.com
 Tanya Yousufi
 (Farsi and Dari)
647-999-6820 tanya.yousufi@cicscanada.com

For further information, please contact -

Sandy Chiang
SEPT PROGRAM MANAGER
Phone (416) 292-7510 ext. 303 / (647) 999-7640
E-mail: sandy.chiang@cicscanada.com

Rachel Tam
SEPT and Mental Health Coordinator
Phone (416) 292-7510 ext. 133 / (647) 332-4339
E-mail: rachel.tam@cicscanada.com

Mabel Chow
SEPT ADMINISTRATOR
Phone (416) 292-7510 ext. 301
(647) 332-9590
E-mail: mabel.chow@cicscanada.com

Year Round services at Georges Vanier Newcomers Reception Centre:

The Reception Centre has multilingual staff that can assist newcomer students and their families. Newcomer families will also have a chance to meet at the Reception Centre with a Settlement Worker, who can give them information on settlement topics such as finding housing, looking for employment, accessing health care in Ontario, and connecting with a variety of support agencies. Ali secondary students must make an appointment with the Reception Centre by telephone. Contact Georges Vanier Reception Centre at 416-395-9384.

SEPT Services During Summer:

A. In Libraries:

During the summer when schools ore closed, SEPT workers are placed in public libraries, where newcomers are likely to encounter them.

B. In School:

1) Newcomer Orientation Week (NOW)

The Newcomer Orientation Week program provides orientation to newly-arrived high school students. Over three and-a-half days in the last week of the summer. the students are oriented to their school by Peer Leaders-students who were newcomers in recent years.

2) Welcome and Information for Newcomers (WIN)

The Welcome and Information for Newcomers program was developed to help newcomer teens entering middle school (grades 6-8). WIN uses some of the same programming elements as NOW but is one day instead of four. Whereas NOW is a full orientation to high school, WIN is a basic introduction intended to build a positive foundation for parents and students to interact with the school and settlement worker. Peer leaders are also central to WIN, helping demonstrate elements in the program and to build friendships with the newcomer students.

Follow us on social media: